Save the digital memories that you create in your lifetime 

The mass revolution of the internet and social media means that we are spending an ever increasing amount of time online.  Not only are we spending time online, we’re sharing our lives digitally with those we love and our friends possibly all over the world.  But what happens when we’re not around anymore?  We carefully collect and share precious moments throughout our lives in this digital world creating a portfolio of our lives filled with memories.  This is why many people who are planning for later life are opting to save their profiles for their family to enjoy once they are gone. 

The great news is that we can choose what happens to our social media accounts after we die.  The options include: deleting accounts, appointing an executor to your account and specifying how they can use it, downloading all of your data including messages and photos or ‘memorializing’ your account.  Facebook in particular has been innovative in this area providing a way for the deceased’s accounts to remain active so that friends and loved ones can leave messages and view their photos.

Whilst it can seem like a lot to think about, later life planning really can make a huge difference to the families of loved ones – they can rest easy knowing that what happens to you and your digital life when you are gone is exactly what you want. 

Download the Digital Legacy Form here